The days at the Mortgage Bankers Association’s annual convention and expo in Las Vegas feature quite the packed schedule. Featured speakers include Federal Housing Finance Agency Director Mel Watt, actor Kevin Spacey and others. But between all the sessions and speakers, the MBA has also elected several new members of its executive leadership.

Bill Emerson, who is chief executive officer of Quicken Loans, was sworn in Monday as chairman-elect of the MBA for the 2014-2015 membership year. Emerson, the former vice-chairman of the MBA’s Residential Board of Governors, is a member of the MBA’s GSE Single Family Task Force and serves on the MBA’s Board of Directors.

“I look forward to leading the MBA and helping carry out its crucial role in advocating for lenders all over the country looking to responsibly spread the opportunity of affordable home ownership,” Emerson said.

“Quicken Loans and the MBA have a shared mission of further strengthening the residential real estate market and meeting the needs of every client, every time. I have no doubt the coming year will bring us closer to that goal.”

Also on Monday, The MBA swore in its 2014-2015 Board of Directors. Bill Cosgrove, the CEO of Union Home Mortgage Company, was sworn in as chair of the Board of Directors.

“It is an honor and pleasure to work alongside MBA’s influential and experienced Board of Directors,” said Cosgrove. “The members of this Board will no doubt be influential and effective in helping to create policy that positively affects the real estate finance industry.”

Additionally, Rodrigo López, who is founder, president and CEO of AmeriSphere, was sworn in as vice chairman of the MBA for the 2014-2015 membership year.

López also serves as the chairman of MBA’s Commercial Real Estate/Multifamily Finance Board of Governors, and was the director of MBA’s Board of Directors from 2012 to 2014.

There are 26 elected members and one ex-officio member, MBA president and CEO David Stevens, on the MBA's Board of Directors.

In addition to naming Cosgrove as chair, Byron Boston of Dynex Capital Inc.; Nathan Burch of McLean Mortgage Corporation; Philip DeFronzo of Norcom Mortgage; Thomas Dennard of Grandbridge Real Estate Capital; and Richard Bennion of HomeStreet Bank were also elected as new members to the Board of Directors.

The remaining members of the MBA Board of Directors are:

  • Bill Cosgrove, Union Home Mortgage, Chairman
  • Bill Emerson, Quicken Loans, Chairman-Elect
  • Rodrigo Lopez, AmeriSphere, Vice-Chairman
  • E.J. Burke, Key Community Bank, Immediate Past Chairman
  • Rick Aneshansel, U.S. Bank Home Mortgage
  • Barrett Burns, VantageScore Solutions
  • Hugh Frater, Berkadia Commercial Mortgage
  • Christopher George, CMG Financial
  • C. William Griffin, Black Knight Financial Services
  • Michael Heid, Wells Fargo Home Mortgage
  • R. Paige Hood, Prudential Mortgage Capital Company
  • Jerome Lienhard, SunTrust Mortgage
  • Michael Malloy, Bank of America Home Loans
  • William McCue, McCue Mortgage Company
  • Anand Nallathambi, CoreLogic
  • Kurt Pfotenhauer, First American Title Insurance Company
  • Julie Piepho, Cornerstone Home Lending
  • David Stevens, Mortgage Bankers Association (ex-officio member)
  • Brian Stoffers, CBRE Capital Markets
  • Robert Stout, Q10 Capital
  • William Walker, Walker & Dunlop
  • Kevin Watters, JPMorgan Chase

Additionally, the MBA also announced the members and leadership of its Residential Board of Governors, which is the governing body for MBA's single-family residential members and is responsible for establishing legislative and regulatory policies and positions on residential lending issues.

Michael Malloy, mortgage policy & counterparty relations executive for Bank of America Home Loans, was elected as chairman of RESBOG and William McCue, president of McCue Mortgage Company, was elected as vice-chairman.

"With extensive experience in the real estate finance industry and within MBA, Mike and Bill are well-positioned to spearhead a comprehensive legislative and regulatory agenda this coming year,” Cosgrove said.

“I am excited for Mike to begin his term as chairman of RESBOG, and I am confident that he will help guide MBA through an important time, as major regulations stemming from Dodd-Frank and GSE Reform continue to be a priority,” Cosgrove added. “His leadership will promote the best interests of the real estate finance industry and lay the foundation for a productive future.”

Allesandro DiNello of Flagstar Bank; Rodrigo Lopez of AmeriSphere; Joseph Rogers, of Wells Fargo Home Mortgage; Michelle Van Dyke of Fifth Third Mortgage; Rob Gaither of PNC Bank and Kevin Pezzani of LSI Mortgage Plus were elected as new members of RESBOG.

RESBOG’s returning members are:

  • Michael Malloy, Bank of America Home Loans (Chairman)
  • William McCue, McCue Mortgage Company (Vice-Chairman)
  • Enrico Arvielo, New American Funding
  • David Battany, PennyMac Loan Services
  • Jon Baymiller, NYCB Mortgage Company
  • J. Lynn Beckstead, Security National Mortgage Company
  • Rich Bennion, HomeStreet Bank
  • Teresa Bryce Bazemore, Radian Guaranty
  • Donald Calcaterra, Jr., Towne Mortgage Company
  • Bill Cosgrove, Union Home Mortgage
  • Phillip DeFronzo, Norcom Mortgage
  • Bill Emerson, Quicken Loans
  • Alexander Jung, BB&T
  • Jamie Korus, Alliance Financial Resources
  • Peter Lansing, Universal Lending Corporation
  • Stewart Larsen, Bank of the West
  • Peter Mahoney, SunTrust Mortgage
  • Philip Mahoney, American Security Mortgage Corp.
  • Jeffrey May, Cherry Creek Mortgage Co.
  • Marla Mayne, U.S. Bank Home Mortgage
  • Mary Ann McGarry, Guild Mortgage Company
  • J. David Motley, Colonial National Mortgage
  • Kurt Noyce, Embrace Home Loans
  • Mary O'Donnell, Westcor Land Title Insurance Co.
  • Kurt Pfotenhauer, First American Title Insurance Company
  • Julie Piepho, Cornerstone Home Lending
  • Patrick Sinks, Mortgage Guaranty Insurance Corporation
  • Susan Stewart, Southwest Business Corporation
  • James Timmons, Universal American Mortgage Co.
  • Thomas Wind, EverBank
  • David Zitting, Primary Residential Mortgage

MBA’s residential committee chairs serving on RESBOG are:

  • Julie Booth, Quicken Loans: Financial Management
  • Michael Sullivan, Pulte Mortgage: Legal Issues, Quality Assurance and Regulatory Compliance
  • Kevin Osuna, Gateway MortgageLoan Administration
  • Lawrence Moss, Augusta Mortgage CompanyResidential Loan Production
  • Avi Sengupta, Bank of America Home Loans: Secondary and Capital Markets
  • Cody Pearce, Cascade FinancialState Legislative and Regulatory