First Professional Reverse Mortgage Designations Awarded

The first round of Certified Reverse Mortgage Professional designations were awarded to six members according to a statement from the National Reverse Mortgage Lenders Association.

In order to earn the designation, individuals are required to have a minimum of two years of experience in the reverse mortgage business and close at least 50 loans.  Additionally, individuals must take 12 hours of continuing education courses as well as NRMLA’s three-hour ethics course, pass a background check, and sit through a three-hour exam.

“We were intent on creating a Certification that is rigid enough to demand the respect of professionals and government officials and the confidence of America’s seniors,” said Peter Bell, NRMLA president. “On behalf of the entire membership, we congratulate our inaugural designees all of whom, have demonstrated a deep understanding of the product and an eagerness to continually pursue additional education.”

“Through this process, I discovered a lot of things I wouldn’t otherwise have had the opportunity to learn,” said Anissa G. Palmatier, a reverse mortgage consultant with PNC Reverse Mortgage LLC who earned the designation. “What the underlying political reasons were in how they structured the reverse mortgage. What everyone else does in the process from beginning to end. My knowledge is much more comprehensive now which should give my borrowers much more confidence in me.”

The certification is valid for three years, during which time designees must sit for an additional 12 hours of continuing education per year to be re-certified.

The CRMP designation was created by an Independent Certification Committee comprising members of NRMLA that will administer the program, while working in concert with Professional Testing, Inc. For three decades, Professional Testing has developed more than 2,500 programs, administered over 1.2 million exams, and maintained licensure and professional certification examination programs for 125 occupations.

Others who earned the designation include: Henrietta Belcher-Stack (WSFS Bank), Clarence “Buck” Harbuck (Financial Freedom), Eric Kirschbaum (Cambridge Senior Capital), Kenneth Klawans (iReverse Home Loans LLC), Anissa G. Palmatier (PNC Reverse Mortgage LLC), and Eric Rittmeyer (Fidelis Mortgage).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular Articles

3d rendering of a row of luxury townhouses along a street

Log In

Forgot Password?

Don't have an account? Please