The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau appointed 25 individuals with backgrounds in financial services, consumer protection and housing services to its newly created Consumer Advisory Board.

The regulator, which has been charged with fleshing out Dodd-Frank Truth-in-Lending Act rules, plans to tap into the board's diverse skills sets and expertise while enforcing Dodd-Frank rules and shaping lending and consumer protection guidelines.

The board includes executives from banks, housing agencies, nonprofits, policy institutions, as well as law professors and lawyers.

"This group of experts truly represents the interests of the diverse people and communities we serve,” said CFPB director Richard Cordray. “The Consumer Advisory Board will be a key resource to the CFPB and I look forward to working with its members to further our mission to protect American consumers.”

Members will serve three-year terms with appointments staggered.

Below is a complete list of the Consumer Advisory Board members. Their first meeting takes place on Sept. 27, 2012.

Consumer Advisory Board Members:

Chairperson:  Jose Quinonez, Executive Director, Mission Asset Fund, San Francisco, Calif.

Vice Chairperson:  Bill Bynum, CEO, Hope Enterprise Corp., Jackson, Miss.

Gary Acosta, Executive Chairman, New Vista Asset Management, San Diego, Calif.

Jo Ann Barefoot, Co-Chair, Treliant Risk Advisors, Washington, D.C.

Don Baylor, Senior Policy Analyst for Economic Opportunity, Center for Public Policy Priorities, Austin, Texas

Maeve Brown, Executive Director, Housing and Economic Rights Advocates, Oakland, Calif.

Steve Carlson, Head of Marketing,, Mountainview, Calif.

Laura Castro de Cortes, Vice President of Alternative Financial Services, Centris Federal Credit Union, Omaha, Neb.

Elizabeth Costle, Director of Consumer and State Affairs, AARP Public Policy Institute, Washington, D.C.

Prentiss Cox, Associate Professor of Law, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minn.

Patricia Duarte, Director, Neighborood Housing Services of Phoenix, Phoenix, Ariz.

Patricia Hasson, President, Clarifi, Philadelphia, Pa.

Adam Levitin, Professor of Law, Georgetown Law School, Washington, D.C.

James McCarthy, President/CEO, Miami Valley Fair Housing Center, Dayton, Ohio

Jennifer Mishory, Deputy Director, Young Invincibles, Washington, D.C.

William Nelson, Executive Director, USA Cares, Radcliffe, Ky.

Michelle Peluso, Global Consumer Chief Marketing and Internet Officer, Citigroup, New York, N.Y.

Dory Rand, President, Woodstock Institute, Chicago, Ill.

Annette Rizzo, Judge, First Judicial District of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pa.

Ellen Seidman, Chair, Board of Directors of the Center for Financial Services Innovation, Washington, D.C.

Josh Silverman, President for U.S. Consumer Services, American Express, New York, N.Y.

Robert Stoll, Founder, Stoll Berne LLC, Portland, Ore.

Donna Tanoue, Vice Chairman, Bank of Hawaii, Honolulu, Hawaii

Jane Thompson, CEO and Founder, Jane J. Thompson LLC, Lake Forest, Ill.

Jonathan Zinman, Associate Professor, Dartmouth College, Hanover, N.H.