Unique State Test Components for SAFE Act Available Nationwide

The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) announced that unique state test components are now available for all 50 states and two territories—the District of Columbia and the Virgin Islands.

As part of the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act), mortgage loan originators are required to pass a written qualified test to become licensed through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System.  The SAFE Mortgage Loan Originator Test, which has been developed by NMLS, consists of two components: a National Component and a Unique State Component.  Mortgage loan originators must take and pass the National Component and a Unique State Component for each state in which they are seeking a license.

“Today’s announcement marks the successful completion of another requirement assigned to NMLS by the SAFE Act,” said Bill Matthews, CSBS Senior Vice President and President of the State Regulatory Registry, the wholly owned subsidiary of CSBS that operates NMLS on behalf of state mortgage regulators.  “This is one more illustration of how state regulators are committed to providing enhanced and efficient supervision of the regulatory mortgage industry by their full commitment to implement the many provisions of the SAFE Act.”

The National Test Component and the first 11 Unique State Test Components were launched by NMLS on July 30, 2009.  Since that date, NMLS has administered over 332,000 tests across the nation.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular Articles

3d rendering of a row of luxury townhouses along a street

Log In

Forgot Password?

Don't have an account? Please