HW Media connects and informs decision makers across the housing economy. Professionals rely on HW Media for breaking news, reporting, and industry data and rankings. Moving the Housing Market Forward.
MortgageReal Estate

New Colorado law requires landlords to give 21-day notice of rent hikes, lease terminations

New law applies to short-term tenants

Thanks to a newly enacted law in the state of Colorado, renters in the state on short-term leases will now receive more advanced notice of rent increases or lease terminations.

The new law requires landlords to provide a 21-day notice to short-term renters (those on month-to-month leases or those with lease terms under six months) of rent hikes or terminations of their lease.

Previously, landlords were only required to provide a 7-day notice to short-term tenants.

The Denver Post has more details:

The legislation — Senate Bill 17-245 — passed with bipartisan backing from state Rep. Dan Pabon, D-Denver, and state Sen. Kevin Priola, R-Adams County.

Pabon said it took two years to get the legislation passed.

Housing advocates say the new law provides a more reasonable amount of time for renters to find another place if they can’t afford a rent hike or if the landlord needs them out.

Most Popular Articles

3d rendering of a row of luxury townhouses along a street

Log In

Forgot Password?

Don't have an account? Please